Subscribe to RSS
banner

Repost from nicholas-davies.com: 30 Day Challenge Review (midway)

30 day challenge review

30 Day Challenge Review

Right, so here I am, halfway through the month. Time for an update on my progress!

So far, I’ve been well on target with my goal of writing at least 500 words a day. I’ve been recording all my progress on a table and it’s looking good:

DATE NO OF WORDS WRITTEN
01/06/13 587
02/06/13 530
03/06/13 550
04/06/13 1088
05/06/13 538
06/06/13 607
07/06/13 512
08/06/13 536
09/06/13 563
10/06/13 637
11/06/13 518
12/06/13 520
13/06/13 Partner’s birthday
14/06/13 520
15/06/13 561

So far, so good as they say. I’ve managed to write at least 500 words each day with the exception of Wednesday 13.06.13 (this was my partner’s birthday, so I couldn’t exactly do any work then! Still, the amount written on 04.06.13 will make up for this seeing as I managed 1088 words that particular day!

As stated in my original post, Matt Cutts declared that it takes 30 days to form a habit (or remove one depending on whatever your goal is, of course!) The biggest challenge is sticking to it! 

Despite the minor hiatus mentioned above, I haven’t really strayed much from the programme. It is easy to err, however, and sometimes (to be honest) there are times when you really feel like not doing anything.

However, this challenge has seemed very energising and the approach I have taken to keep myself motivated does seems to help in keeping my focus on the goal in place. Here’s some things I’ve observed:

1) I’ve allowed myself to vary the topics which I write about, rather than sticking with just one. I believe that writing about different things does help to keep the interest going and also minimise the possibility of writer’s block. For instance, some of the things I’ve been writing include Success Psychology posts, Abundance and Prosperity Posts, auto-responder emails and my draft report. This has allowed me to be able to keep things moving along, as there is always something that needs to be completed.  (Of course, everything thus far has tended to be non-fiction based, so I’m hoping to also do some writing contributing to my next fiction work over the remainder of the time.)

2) It’s also helped to set a realistic target of 500 words minimum. I had originally intended to do a thousand but (just like the SMART target system) it was better to set a more realistic target of 500 because I knew that it would not be too difficult to write this amount in one session. Usually, I find that I go over this anyway so any additional words over this target are a bonus.

3) The final thing I have noticed thus far is that it doesn’t matter about the quality of the words I write, just that the minimum quantity is achieved. After all, the writing is only done in draft form (it will be edited later.) This takes the pressure off to get things done perfectly, because it really doesn’t matter. This is a great liberating factor that can negate that horrible thing called the ‘inner critic’ (there’ll be something about that on Success Psychology soon!)

Okay, so that’s it for now!

I’m certainly happy with my progress thus far. The challenge now is to ensure I keep it up for the next 15 days! (Well, it’s certainly worked today. 516 thus far according to the count below, so that’s good going!)

See you in the final update!

Nick Davies

What do you think of my 30-day challenge? I’d love to hear some feedback. Please feel free to comment below.

There was an issue loading your exit LeadBox™. Please check plugin settings.

Print Friendly

1 comment

Add your comment

Nickname:
E-mail:
Website:
Comment:


Other articlesgo to homepage

Power Briefing: The 3 Essential Components of a Success Mindset

Power Briefing: The 3 Essential Components of a Success Mindset(0)

New Power Briefing: My 3 Essential Components of a Success Mindset What are my 3 essential components of a success mindset? This is the second of new video Power Briefings on YouTube which I’d like to share with you (again, an upgrade of an older post – check out the previous one here.) In this video, I

Print Friendly
Power Briefing: My 5 Best Rules For Focusing on Success

Power Briefing: My 5 Best Rules For Focusing on Success(0)

New Power Briefing Video Series – My Five Best Rules For Focusing on Success View on YouTube What are my 5 best rules for focusing on success? This is something I’ve covered before in a post from a couple of years back (you can check out the previous post here.) However, I though it’d be

Print Friendly
How to kill your dreams: Bel Pesce on TED

How to kill your dreams: Bel Pesce on TED(0)

How to Kill Your Dreams: The 5 Best Ways by Bel Pesce on TED Would you like to know the five best ways to kill your dreams? Bel Pesce shows you how in her recent TED talk. Now, if you are planning to successful, its a good idea to take notice of what Bel says,

Print Friendly
Danielle Brown MBE – Overcoming Difficulty to Achieve Sporting Success

Danielle Brown MBE – Overcoming Difficulty to Achieve Sporting Success(0)

Danielle Brown MBE – Overcoming Difficulty to Achieve Sporting Success Self-belief is vitally important to overcome any challenge in order to achieve your goals (Tweet this!) This is something which has been proven over-and-over again. You may have seen the previous article about how Roger Bannister demonstrated tremendous self-belief in overcoming the challenge of running

Print Friendly
Roger Bannister and the Power of Self-Belief

Roger Bannister and the Power of Self-Belief(3)

Roger Bannister and the Power of Self-Belief You have the power within you to succeed. (Tweet this!) It’s true. In fact, everybody has it!  It’s just that some people know how to access this core self-belief, whilst others put a blockage in the way. The power of self-belief is one of the most formidable forces

Print Friendly
read more

How Can NLP Help You Achieve Phenomenal Success?

banner

Success Psychology Recommendation

Success Psychology Amazon Store

Contacts and information

Success Psychology sometimes uses affiliate links. This means that if you decide to purchase something featured here, I receive a sales commission. However, that does not mean my views/opinions are for sale. The items featured on this site are things I have used, reviewed or found highly useful in the past. But DO NOT take my word for it - make sure you do your own research online before buying anything.

Social networks

Most popular categories

Buy This Theme
© 2011 Gadgetine Wordpress theme by orange-themes.com All rights reserved.